Vietnamese PM orders expansion of visa waiver for more countries

February 19, 2024

PM Chinh assigned the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to review and assess the country’s unilateral visa exemption policy for citizens of 13 countries, including Germany, France, Italy, Spain, the UK, Russia, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Belarus, Japan, and South Korea. The ministry will have to join hands with the Ministry of Public Security to propose a new list of countries eligible for a unilateral visa waiver. In mid-August last year, the Vietnamese government issued a resolution to grant e-visas to citizens from all countries and territories. It also lengthened the visa-free stay to 45 days from 15 days for citizens of 13 countries eligible for the country's unilateral visa waiver policy, regardless of passport types or entry purposes, as long as they meet the entry requirements outlined in Vietnamese law. The expansion of the visa waiver policy has facilitated foreign tourists, thus attracting more tourists to Vietnam and improving the country’s competitiveness, the authority added.

The source of this news is from Tuoi Tre News

Featured Jobs